A precious jewel in God’s eyes

For those who don’t know, the name Dzhokhar means “jewel.”

I don’t think I could have named him better myself, for he is really a precious jewel in God’s eyes. No matter what Jahar has done, he is a beautiful creation of God, fearfully and wonderfully made in His image.

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. (Psalm 139:13-16)

Jahar with his sister AilinaWhen God looks upon Jahar, He doesn’t say, “Jahar, I may have created you, but I hate you now. I don’t want you. Go to hell; see if I care.” Rather, it’s the opposite. It’s more like “Jahar, I love you so much. You are a precious jewel to Me. I love you so much that I have given My life that I might bring you home to Me. Even My own life is not too big a price to pay to have you as My child.”

Jahar’s worth and God’s desire to bring him into His family remind me of one of Jesus’ parables:

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant in search of fine pearls, who, on finding one pearl of great value, went and sold all that he had and bought it. (Matthew 13:44-46)

Jahar is a precious jewel to God—a pearl of great value if you will. Jesus has already given absolutely everything to obtain Jahar’s heart. Jahar just needs to come to believe that.

Our precious jewel can find his true value in Christ.

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A precious jewel in God’s eyes

    • Bri says:

      I’m a little bit biased since I wrote it, haha, but isn’t it? I was thinking about the meaning of his name, and it hit me, and I’m like, “Wow, that’s beautiful.” I just can’t stop thinking about how precious Jahar is to me and how that pales in comparison to how precious he is to God. We can rest assured that God isn’t going to abandon Jahar; He loves and wants him.

  1. Ada says:

    For those who don’t think that Jahar can be saved/converted, remember that diamonds came from, basically, waste. God is so powerful that He created an Atonement for anybody the repents and places their faith in Him. Essentially, I am no better than Jahar- no matter whatever I’ve done or not done. So if I can be saved, why cannot Jahar be saved?
    And yes, it is very interesting that “Dzhokhar” means jewel!

Leave a Comment

