Prayer for a Friend

Ever had a moment when you feel like a song was written for you, for the very situation you’re in or someone you love is in? Well, that’s happened to me numerous times since I’ve begun praying for Jahar. The song I’m about to share just about takes the prize, though, as it’s spot on word-for-word what I’m feeling and what I imagine those of you who also pray for Jahar’s salvation are feeling.

It’s a song that I’ve known about for a while, but it’s taken on new meaning for me in the past week after another Christian who prays for Jahar (hi Taylor, haha) shared it with me. So here it is, “Prayer for a Friend” by Casting Crowns:

If you’re like me, you wish you could do more. You wish that you weren’t limited to just praying for Jahar and writing letters to him. You get frustrated when you can’t find the right words to write to Jahar. You just feel so helpless sometimes, knowing that Jahar is a lost soul, and all you’ve got in the battle to bring him home is your knees and a pen. Maybe you’ve even caught yourself saying something similar to “I’ve done all that I know to do.”

Well, that’s exactly what we need to do. We need to do all that we know how to do to the best of our abilities. That might not seem like it’s enough, but it is. We can only do so much, but even our efforts that seem like they are so insignificant can be used by God to move mountains.

So brothers and sisters, continue to pray for Jahar and share Christ’s love to Jahar through letters, but then trust our amazing God to do the rest.

Lord, I lift my friend to You
My best friend in the world, I know he means much more to You
I want so much to help him, but this is something he has to do
And Lord, I lift my friend up to You

This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

