Will You Love Jahar Tsarnaev?

I found an amazing sermon yesterday entitled “Will You Love Jahar Tsarnaev?” by Pastor Coty Pinckney from Desiring God Community Church in North Carolina. It was preached on April 21—two days after Jahar was captured and the exact day that I began my commitment to pray for Jahar daily for as long as I need to.

The sermon is preached from the perspective that Jahar definitely committed the marathon bombings and murdered Sean Collier. I know some of you firmly believe that Jahar was framed and others of you think it’s at least a possibility that he is innocent, but put that aside for a moment and read/listen to this anyway. Trust me. It’s so good.

Text version of the sermon

Audio version of the sermon

There are so many parts of this sermon I’d love to quote here, but 1) I don’t want to ruin it and 2) this post would probably be over 1,000 words long then. For just a little teaser, here’s one of my favorite parts:

Jahar Tsarnaev is made in the image of God. He has polluted that image by his sin and rebellion. By God’s grace, that image can shine forth in majesty and beauty.

Jahar Tsarnaev is potentially an heir of the earth (Matthew 5:5).

Jahar Tsarnaev is potentially part of the Bride of Christ (Ephesians 5:25-27), dearly loved by Him, indeed, dearly loved by YOU.  As John Newton writes, those who are our enemies now who truly follow Christ will one day be, “Dearer to you than the nearest friend you have upon earth is to you now.”

Could that be true of Jahar?

Yes it could! And oh how I pray to God that it will!

Yes, Lord, I will love Jahar Tsarnaev. Will you, brothers and sisters, follow in our Lord’s footsteps and do the same?

This entry was posted in Why Pray? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Will You Love Jahar Tsarnaev?

  1. 9lopez4 says:

    Everything about that sermon was so amazing and true it gave me goosebumps throughout the entire thing. Amazing

  2. Bri says:

    I almost started crying several times, beginning with when he talked about Jahar and Tamerlan being made in the image of God. Everything was just so beautiful and powerful about this sermon. I want to listen to it again already.

  3. I will love Jahar Tsarnaev. But far beyond my capabilities to love as a human being, I pray he comes to realize how much JESUS truly loves him!

    “By God’s grace, that image can shine forth in majesty and beauty.” Wow ❤

    • Bri says:

      True! As much as I love Jahar, it’s not my love that I want him to feel and know; it’s the love of Jesus.

      That’s one of my favorite quotes in the whole sermon because I keep talking about how Jahar is a beautiful person made in the image of God. To think about that image being restored and brought to what it was meant to be… Wow.

  4. Robbieg30@sbcglobal.ner says:

    Pray for Jahar. Jesus comes onto Jahar’s new life with warm heart. Amen.

  5. Don'tWorry AboutIt says:

    I like to think he is innocent, though I doubt it. Another thing for you people to keep in mind is that he is a muslim. even though what he did is not condoned by islam; he is still a muslim. the infatuiation people have with him has little to do with his supposed innocence as it does with how cute they find him. if he was not as attractive he would not have the support he does.
    I am a muslim and i doubt Jahar would find this sermon flattering. I don’t understand what this blog is about…praying for him to convert? for him to find Jesus? lol
    He will not denounce Islam, even if his view is extreme and skewed. He is a MUSLIM.
    please do something productive with your life

    • Bri says:

      Yes, that is the main point of the blog, though we do want other things such as Jahar to be healed of his injuries, the truth to come out and justice to be served, Jahar and his family to be comforted and strengthened, Jahar not to be given the death penalty, etc. Look at it this way: As a Muslim, I assume you want the whole world to become Muslim because you believe that Allah is the only god, Muhammad is his messenger, and living according to the Qur’an is the only way to go to Jannah. Well, likewise as a Christian, I want everyone to become Christian because I believe that the only way our sins can be forgiven is through Jesus Christ. I don’t want anyone to go to hell, not even my worst enemies, so if I believe that there is only one way to be saved, I’m not going to sit back and be quiet. In my worldview, there is nothing more productive than to spread Christianity and the message of Jesus Christ.

      • Don'tWorry AboutIt says:

        actually I don’t care what other people believe. And in Islam it says to respect other religions and that jews and chrisitians are people of the book. I don’t make it my mission to convert people and believe that God judges people regardless of their religion. The main mission of a muslim is to worship God. There are good Christians and there are bad muslims and God knows what people’s intentions are…In Islam there are Christians who will go to Jannah as there are Muslims that will go to Hell. Being a Muslim will not “save” anyone from hell…being a muslim is a way of life. According to islam what will save a person is what is in their hearts…if their good deeds outweigh the bad and ONLY God knows that.

Leave a Comment

