Brainstorming for exposure

I’ve been thinking a lot the past few days about point #3 from my previous blog entry: gaining exposure for our cause and for our blog in particular. I’ve been so happy to find likeminded Christians, and I thank God that He’s brought us altogether to fight for a precious young man. That said, however, I wish there were far more of us in this mission to lead Jahar to Christ. There is something so powerful about God’s people uniting for a single cause.

So what I intend to do with this blog entry is to brainstorm ways to gain exposure for our blog as well as get more people to pray for Jahar. I’m going to mention ideas that I’ve already done or ideas that I’ve thought of. Some might be crazy, some might be too much. That’s why I’m bouncing them off all of you. Let me know what you think.

1. Pass out flyers at Christian events, such as music festivals.
2. Talk to our Christian friends about Jahar.
3. Talk to people at the churches and ministries we attend and possibly go around to other churches and ministries in our towns and do the same.
4. Share our blog posts on social media whenever we post.
5. Tweet our blog at Christian music artists, pastors, Christian authors, Christian athletes, etc. (basically Christians with influence).
6. Submit a story idea or an article about our blog/mission to Christian magazines such as Relevant that take submissions.
7. Contact media organizations and tell them about our blog (they might be interested to see people supporting Jahar for reasons other than being a fangirl or thinking he’s innocent).
8. Post prayer requests for Jahar to apps (Instapray and Prayers to Share) and websites (http://www.prayerrequest.com) and possibly include our blog’s URL.

That’s what I’ve got for now. If you’ve got any ideas, please post them in the comments.

This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Brainstorming for exposure

  1. Bri says:

    I came up with another idea!

    So over Labor Day weekend, I’m going to a Christian music festival in South Dakota called Lifelight. I was thinking about passing out flyers, but all materials handed out have to be preapproved and I don’t know if they’d approve flyers about this blog because it’s “controversial.” Plus, I’m rather shy around strangers, so who knows if I’d have the guts to hand out flyers.

    Today I thought of a way to get around that! what if I made a Christians United for Jahar T-shirt and wore it at the festival? That way people walking by or standing by me would see it and some might even ask questions. And then possibly when I go in the merch tent to buy some shirts, some band members might see it and then spread the word. Is that as genius as I think it is, or is it dumb and I’m just way overenthusiastic?

    If shirts are a good idea in general, we could make some and wear them around to different Christian events or just whenever we feel like it.

  2. ahl says:

    I think it’s overenthusiastic. We have to remember that he struck terror into the hearts of people. No one wants to see his face. I think we should go to people who support and love him…like his supporters, I’m sure we will find Christians there.

    • I don’t think Bri was planning on using his face on the shirt, I think she was just thinking about using the blog title. And isn’t the purpose to draw love and forgiveness TO him despite what he’s allegedly done? Isn’t that what Christ taught us to do? In Matthew 5:43-44, Jesus said, “You have heard it said that you should love your neighbor and hate your enemy. But I tell you, love your enemy and pray for those who persecute you.” As hard as that is to do sometimes, it is crucial. If a Christian believes love and prayer is reserved only for the righteous, then not a single one of us deserve either because we are all sinners. Thank God for His grace and mercy! Yes, Jahar allegedly killed, maimed, injured, and struck terror into the hearts of Boston and our entire nation as a whole, but if a Christian is afraid to pray for someone so controversial then they clearly need to go and read who it was Jesus primarily sat with, ate with, walked with, and talked with that caused such controversy 2,000 years ago. People need to remember that Jesus came to save all no matter who they are or what they’ve done. Our sin is why we NEED a Savior and it’s our duty to lift people up to Him in prayer, especially those who are out of touch with the Gospel either through lack of knowledge or unbelief. Why should Christians neglect to pray for an alleged terrorist? Why be so afraid to do that? Because of what other people think? In Luke 23, was it not criminals who were being crucified alongside a blameless Christ? And did one not repent as his death drew near? “Lord, remember me when You go into Your kingdom.” Did Jesus turn away from him despite the pain that criminal must have inflicted upon people during his life? No. Instead Jesus said, “Verily I say unto you, today you shall be with Me in Paradise.” So why should Christians refrain from praying for Jahar because of what he’s allegedly done? Why keep love and forgiveness restricted to such a tiny little bubble as though it were a fan club instead of spreading it around to those most in need as Christ so crucially instructed us to do?

      I can’t remember if I seen this quote on this blog or on Twitter, but it comes to mind quite often:

      β€œIf sinners be damned, at least let them leap to hell over our bodies. If they will perish, let them perish with our arms about their knees. Let no one go there unwarned and unprayed for.” -Charles Spurgeon

      God forbid we believe we’ve found the only Christians in the world who are willing to pray for Jahar’s salvation. I personally think a shirt with just the blog title would not be too much, and she can always wear a shirt over it if she feels the need to and just have it exposed when she feels most comfortable and when it’s most acceptable. Having his face plastered on it…that would way over the line for sure! But, again, I don’t think that’s what Bri had in mind as she’s aware of how delicate this situation is. But I do believe that a Christian music festival filled with many who are like-minded in faith would be the most acceptable place TO wear such a shirt…surely they’d understand being Christian. Surely they’d have it in their hearts to care about someone else’s soul.

      The more people we get to pray for Jahar, the better. And if a Christian is ashamed to pray for someone who needs Jesus…well, all I can do is shake my head and pray for them because they’re obviously still in need of Him, too.

      Those are just my thoughts πŸ™‚

      <333

      • ahl says:

        Okay, thanks for explaining that clearly. After all that has happened last week, and people’s reaction to RS, I was upset that most people don’t care about reading his background story in the magazine. But, a t-shirt with the blog title would hopefully send a message that we care about him in a loving and forgiving way. Yeah, and I think likeminded Christians who will see that will ask. I agree with you on the love for enemies part. I mean this is what led me here. I believe the Lord gathered us together and put His spirit in our hearts to pray for him, and to reach out to him.

      • No problem πŸ™‚ I understand completely about how high your emotions have been running after the RS cover controversy came out. I’ve been feeling the same way. In the end, I trust that Bri will make her decision based on what the Holy Spirit guides her to do! πŸ˜€

      • Bri says:

        Hyl – Completely agreed. And that Spurgeon quote was from a blog entry of mine on here.

        ahl – I was potentially going to have his pic on the shirt (not for sure by any means, though), but I think you and Hyl have convinced me that that’s perhaps not a wise idea. I think I’ll end up making and wearing the shirt but just have “Christians United for Jahar” or something similar instead of his face. And I also am firmly convinced that God put Jahar on our hearts and brought us all together. It gives me so much encouragement and so much hope for Jahar. God is moving! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for reminding me! Haha, ever since reading it I think of it often and couldn’t remember where I had read it πŸ™‚

        Sorry I assumed that you weren’t going to put his face on it…I probably should have asked you about that! But I think that if you do end up doing the shirt, the blog title would just be enough. I think it’d be enough to pique interest without being too “in your face” (if that makes sense). And I also got to thinking that a lot of people may not be keeping up with his case and may not even know he is known as “Jahar”. Who knows, that may help open discussions for you. I don’t know, though, maybe that’s me naively assuming again…

      • Bri says:

        I think of it all the time because that quote describes perfectly how hard I want to fight for Jahar’s soul.

        Good point about the Jahar thing. I think a good portion of those who’d recognize the name Dzhokhar Tsarnaev would know his nickname is Jahar, but not all of them. I have to use Jahar because of the blog title, but if it wouldn’t clutter the shirt or take up space I need for something else, I could possibly put Dzhokhar on there. Or else hopefully people would be curious enough to ask if they don’t know.

      • I think using Dzhokhar would be perfectly acceptable, too, if you decided to add that on there in some way πŸ™‚

  3. ahl says:

    Another reason why I don’t think we should put his face on it is because we make him an idol….like you know how some people wear t-shirts of their favorite rock stars. You should put a cross on there instead.

  4. Ada says:

    Once I get on a blog- Christian-based or not, I start leaving my the names of my blogs. Like at the end of a normal comment, I’ll say, hey, I come visit “such and such.” I just started it, and I’d be glad to have y’all comment” or something like that. I’ve gotten visitors like that, just because people are curious.
    I’ve left a link to CU4J on one blog (it’s a blog with 37,000 followers and over 720,000 views and counting) and on my blog (teeny-tiny!). This is not the only way to spread the mission, but it is one way that is definitely easy to do πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

