A birthday poem

A precious creation of God, that’s what you are,
Made in His image, His jewel, His precious Jahar.
Today I am grateful, with a smile on my face,
For you’re celebrating 20 only by God’s amazing grace.

You might think you’re alone in that dreary, awful cell,
But God is right there with you, I know that full well.
As you sit there in silence, I pray you feel His embrace.
It’s a love unconditional, one that no sin could erase.

I can’t give you a present wrapped up with a bow,
I can’t bake you a cake topped with candles to blow.
But I can give you prayer, to God’s throne you will I lift,
To place you in the loving arms of God, that’s my birthday gift.

So God all powerful, to all his injuries bring Your healing,
And make an end to all the pain that daily he’s been feeling.
Please oh God, open his eyes, may his soul be won,
And bring this lost sheep home to forever be Your beloved son.

This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A birthday poem

  1. 9lopez4 says:

    This is beautiful

  2. Sari Deleo says:

    Very beautiful

  3. Pingback: Beloved of the Beloved (a love poem to Soul) | Greatpoetrymhf's Weblog

  4. taylorcali says:

    I posted a comment through my phone but I guess it didn’t like it, so I’ll say it again. This is amazing and SOOOO good!!! And it rhymes?! Too good to be true! I love it. Brilliant. Moving. Emotional. WONDERFUL!

  5. Ada says:

    “I can’t give you a present wrapped up with a bow,
    I can’t bake you a cake topped with candles to blow.
    But I can give you prayer, to God’s throne you will I lift,
    To place you in the loving arms of God, that’s my birthday gift.”
    I thought that this part was exceptional because it tells how shallow the physical circumstances are in comparison to God’s spiritual gifts. No matter what Jahar (or anybody else) suffers now, there will be an even greater Comfort to God’s children.

    (Wrote this out, like, thirty minutes ago, then responded to all the comments as they came! How funny!)

    • Bri says:

      It emphasizes the importance of realizing what people truly need. It’s not the things and circumstances of this life that matter as much as it’s what God offers that matters. So in blessing other people, it’s the spiritual that matters most.

      I saw this Spurgeon quote a couple days ago: “No man can do me a truer kindness in this world than to pray for me.” Though I’d love to help Jahar beyond just praying for him, that is the greatest thing I can do for him.

Leave a Comment

