Jesus Signed [Jahar’s] Pardon

I found this southern gospel song called “Jesus Signed My Pardon,” and I couldn’t help but think of Jahar. The words speak for themselves:

I was in sin’s prison, oh, so dark and cold
Like a lost sheep wandering from God’s eternal fold
Then the door swung open, Jesus said to me
I have signed your pardon, now you may go free

Jesus signed my pardon, this I surely know
He took my place at Calvary, now I don’t have to go
All my life I’ll give to Him – He gave His for me
Jesus signed my pardon there at Calvary.

Since the Savior led me from that awful place
I can hear the angels as they sing Amazing Grace.
I know I was pardoned from my sin and shame
My heart is always singing Glory to His name

Life is now worth living since I’ve been set free
I’m glad He was willing to save a wretch like me
Now I have a mansion, not a prison wall
Jesus signed my pardon, yes He paid it all

Jesus signed my pardon, this I surely know
He took my place at Calvary, now I don’t have to go
All my life I’ll give to Him – He gave His for me
Jesus signed my pardon there at Calvary

I’m embedding two versions of the song because they are both good in their own ways.

The first is by The Easter Brothers. I like the sound of it better than the other version, but this one is missing the second verse. The cool thing about this version is when the singer speaks in the middle of the song. When he was in prison, the original writer of the song came to speak there and planted a seed in the singer’s heart; later he gave his life to the Lord. Reminds me of what I hope for Jahar.

The second version is by Amos & Margaret Raber.

This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jesus Signed [Jahar’s] Pardon

  1. anncortez77 says:

    Love this song! My Mamaw used to sing it! ♥ Thank you so much for posting this! It’s perfect for Jahar! ♥

    • Bri says:

      Aww 🙂 And yes it is. I had never heard this song before, so when I stumbled upon it, I was like WOW, this is so perfect for Jahar. May Jesus sign his pardon. That’s what “free Jahar” really means to me.

  2. Pingback: Please pardon my ignorance….

  3. Kris says:

    This reminded me of Jahar:

    Psalm 142

    1 I cry out to the Lord with my voice;
    With my voice to the Lord I make my supplication.
    2 I pour out my complaint before Him;
    I declare before Him my trouble.
    3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me,
    Then You knew my path.
    In the way in which I walk
    They have secretly set a snare for me.
    4 Look on my right hand and see,
    For there is no one who acknowledges me;
    Refuge has failed me;
    No one cares for my soul.
    5 I cried out to You, O Lord:
    I said, “You are my refuge,
    My portion in the land of the living.
    6 Attend to my cry,
    For I am brought very low;
    Deliver me from my persecutors,
    For they are stronger than I.
    7 Bring my soul out of prison,
    That I may praise Your name;
    The righteous shall surround me,
    For You shall deal bountifully with me.”

Leave a Comment

