Fasting and all night prayer

This is still a little ways out, but I wanted to inform everybody about something that I’m planning to do along with at least a couple other Christians who love and pray for Jahar in case anyone else would be interested in joining.

On September 6th and 7th (the date could move if something comes up on my schedule) we’re going to go beyond the usual pray for Jahar for a little while each day and strive for something even greater, believing in God for amazing things. It consists of two parts:

  1. Fasting from the time we wake up on the 6th until the first meal we’d normally eat on the 7th (so breakfast, if you eat it usually, or lunch otherwise)
  2. Praying from the time the clock strikes midnight on the 7th (technically, but for those of us who are night owls, it’ll feel like the 6th still) until sometime in the morning (I’m thinking 7 a.m. maybe)

If you’re interested in taking part in one or both parts or if you have any questions, drop a note in the comments.

This entry was posted in Fasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fasting and all night prayer

  1. Me and my mum are with you on this one πŸ™‚ Great idea!

    • Bri says:

      Great! Thanks to both of you πŸ™‚

      • marioneve says:

        Hi, I’m mom Marion from Holland πŸ˜‰ my daughter & I are still planning to go fasting/praying for Jahar. I’d like to say though, that although Jesus has always been important to me, I would never pray for someone to change his/her faith/religion into christianity. I just don’t think it’s the right way, as to me it doesn’t matter what religion one belongs to and/or for a person to have no religion at all but is a “good” person nonetheless. I do believe that all of you have the best intentions for Jahar, but it also kind of hit me that all (?) of you actually do believe in his guilt in all this? I for one do believe he’s innocent, but also isn’t he innocent until proven guilty in the first place? That “given” seems to be gone in the U.S. anyway, and that’s very upsetting to me. But again, your intentions feel positive to me and that’s why I’m here in the first place. I only hope you will at least give Jahar the benefit of the doubt.

      • Bri says:

        Hi Marion! Thanks to you and your daughter for joining in with our fasting and praying.

        Here’s an explanation of our heart behind wanting Jahar to become a Christian:
        https://christians4jahar.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/the-most-unloving-thing-we-could-do/

        I’m basically the only one who posts anymore on here, and I lean toward Jahar being guilty. However, there are some who have registered to be a contributor here that lean toward him being innocent. I think everyone of us, though, supports the idea of innocent until proven guilty, which is definitely a concept that the majority of America seems to have forgotten.

Leave a Comment

