Ex Nihilo

Ex Nihilo…. Latin, meaning “out of nothing.” Every time I hear this song, I am reminded that we serve a God who is able to create something out of nothing…. who is able to create a “beautiful piece of art out of the ugliest situations.”

What happened on the day of the Boston Marathon Bombings was most definitely an ugly situation. Innocent people lost their lives. Families lost loved ones. Hundreds of innocent people were gravely injured and are struggling to return to their daily lives without the use of their limbs or senses. I am sure hundreds more are dealing with the psychological after-effects and will be for the rest of their lives. Sadly, there is nothing anyone could ever do to change any of that. Evil won out that afternoon…. but that doesn’t mean that evil must be the end result of the situation. Remember, our God is able to create beauty out of ugliness…… good out of evil….. something out of nothing.

I have already seen so many amazing things happen in my life and in the lives of my sisters in Christ since that terrible morning. I was struggling with my faith and walking away from God, when He used the calling to pray for Jahar to bring me back to Him. He sent me amazing friendships that have allowed me to grow strong roots in my faith that will never be broken. My prayer life has deepened immensely, I am in His word daily, and I continue to fall more and more in love with Him every single day. Through this situation, one of my sisters in Christ has been healed of depression. We have come together to pray for people in our lives to get to know Jesus as their savior – and slowly but surely – we are seeing our prayers being answered. And that is just in our little circle. I am sure that somewhere in the world – other people are seeing little glimpses of beauty coming from this tragedy.

But those little indirect effects don’t even begin to scratch the surface of my dreams for what our God can do. Shortly after God placed the calling on my heart to pray for Jahar daily, I also began to believe that God has an incredible plan for Jahar. One of the lines in “Ex Nihilo” says “You like to fix things with them tools that are broken.” Jahar is most certainly broken. He’s more broken than any of us could probably ever imagine being. But that doesn’t mean that God can’t use him. There are so many instances in the Bible of God using someone who was far from perfect for the good of His kingdom. Moses was a murderer, Rahab a prostitute, Paul a persecutor…. and God still used them in mighty ways. I truly believe that if Jahar were to come into a relationship with Jesus, his testimony would be so crazy powerful because of who he is and what he has been accused of – that he could lead so many people to Jesus – whether inside those prison walls or in the outside world. God has given me an incredible glimpse of what could be – so I will continue to pray every day for God to use this tragedy for the good of His kingdom. And I fully believe that He will.

This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ex Nihilo

  1. Bri says:

    And I rejoice with you as we even today are seeing good come out of this. God takes what was intended for evil and uses it for so much good. Beauty can rise out of the ashes of tragedy.

Leave a Comment

