The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair

I was looking for a webpage about serial killer Ted Bundy becoming a Christian while he was in prison, and I stumbled upon an article that I found very interesting and pertinent to our mission as Christians United for Jahar.

Can people like Bundy, Jeffrey Dahmer, and David Berkowitz (all serial killers who gave their lives to Christ while in prison) really be saved? Is it fair for them to be saved after all the pain that they have caused?

Likewise, is it actually possible for Jahar to be saved, and if so, is that really fair?

Check out “Grace in the Final Hour” from Dr. Charlie Bing of GraceLife Ministries, which provides a look into the unfairness of grace.

After reading that article, I can’t help but think of a line in Relient K’s song “Be My Escape”: “the beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair.” After all, grace is God’s unmerited favor, and He extends it to us whether the world sees us as a perfect angel or a depraved monster.

This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair

  1. Jessica says:

    I am a Christian and I pray every day for him I’m sure he is not guilty of this. Believe it or not but God spoke to my heart and also in the bible saying that he is innocent.

    • Bri says:

      We realize here that whether Jahar is innocent or guilty, he’s in desperate need of Jesus, so that’s what we focus on. As Christians we believe that if he is innocent, he’s still a sinner in need of a savior just like everyone else on this planet. There’s actually a very active member of Christians United for Jahar who thinks he’s innocent, but even she realizes what’s really at stake here. It’s not innocent vs. guilty or even life sentence vs. death penalty; it’s heaven vs. hell. I personally think he’s most likely guilty and so does most of the country/world, so that inevitably plays a part in what I write on this blog. Even if I thought he were innocent, I’m writing to an audience of Christians who probably mostly believe he’s guilty, so I have to convince them that it’s the Christian thing to do to pray for, love, and forgive someone who’s guilty of such a heinous crime and that Jesus can save everybody, again even a terrorist/murderer.

  2. Bri says:

    I will definitely be praying for that request. I imagine that no matter what the exact truth is, it would be very easy for Jahar’s heart to be filled with hatred. Yet, our God is far more powerful than the enemy, so He can surely prevent that from happening.

    “God has also made me aware that if we who are praying for Jahar could see all that is happening in the spirit world on Jahar’s behalf as God orchestrates his salvation, we would be blown away!” God has already been blowing me away throughout these past 8 1/2 months, but I am confident that what I’ve witnessed only scratches the surface of what God is orchestrating. We can’t see most of what is happening, but that sure doesn’t mean nothing is happening. That’s why we have to walk by faith and not by sight. God is moving, and pieces are falling into place as we speak.

    “Personally, my faith has never been stronger and my assurance more complete that the day of Jahar’s salvation will not be held back by the enemy.” Same here. I feel so confident that one day Jahar will be our brother in Christ. I just don’t know how and when it will happen. But God has a perfect plan He’s orchestrating, and I trust Him completely. There are so many times when I’m praying for him and praying about very weighty, serious things, and I just smile as I feel peace wash over me. I believe that’s the Holy Spirit telling me everything is going to be okay for Jahar. And not to mention, I’ve got plenty of other reasons to believe that.

    I’m sure there are far more of us too. And like you said, even if there were few of us, God is not limited by our lack of numbers. After all, look at what David did against Goliath with God’s help while every soldier of Israel was too afraid to take Goliath on. God can use even one lowly person to accomplish His purposes. I am thankful for every single person God has called to be a prayer warrior for Jahar, whether I’ve met them or not.

  3. Ada says:

    “God has also made me aware that if we who are praying for Jahar could see all that is happening in the spirit world on Jahar’s behalf as God orchestrates his salvation, we would be blown away!”
    What’s already “evident” already blows us way (like the fact that Jahar is alive), so can you imagine what we don’t know? I wonder how many dreams from God Jahar has had. (It just occurred to that this has probably happened.) I’d like to see his reaction (I think), even if it is just to say “Look at his reaction to the first dream and his reaction to the dream that led him to Christ.”

    • Bri says:

      I wish we could see what has happened already. Everything is taking place behind a wall that we can’t see past, but that doesn’t mean nothing is going on behind that wall. Jahar could be on the verge of salvation.

      • Ada says:

        “…on the verge of salvation.” LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE it! Love love love the thought, Sister!

        WOW! *shouting going on in the background* Praise our Lord! *more shouting and praises to God*

      • Bri says:

        I’d love to just wake up tomorrow and see on the news that Jahar gave his life to Christ.

      • Ada says:

        ❤ it!

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      I have no idea if he’s on the verge or it’s a ways off, but in my prayer for him the past two days, I have been super encouraged. I shared this with Bri, but yesterday I felt God speaking to me almost like “This IS of Me…..thank you for praying and for following Me….I’ve got him in My hand, and He’s going to be okay.” And then I just finished the most praisey prayer session ever….hands up in the air and everything. I can’t stop praising Him for saving Jahar as if it has already happened.

      • Ada says:

        K, it sounds like you’ve some awesome praise sessions (I remember what you told Lynn about the time you were praying in your car!)! I wish I could see it- I don’t know if I’d laugh or cry for joy!
        I was getting a little weird earlier this afternoon (and now- I’ve a huge grin on my face) on this subject. I love it.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      P.S. Ya’ll have more faith than me that we will find out in a timely manner. I am so afraid we will never know here on earth….or at least not for a very long time. :-/

      • Ada says:

        I don’t know for sure 🙂 I just pray and try to remember that I MYSELF cannot save Jahar- only Christ. The most I can do is to pray, live the Message, and spread the Mission.
        I will tell you, though, over the past few days I’ve been wondering (just wondering) if Jahar is yet saved. (Did I write this down in a comment or no? I remember trying to write this a day or two ago, but I’m not sure if I sent it.) I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s had a dream yet, either. In times of stress, people need to cling to something. When they cling to something false (in Jahar’s case, the world and Islam), the stress will often get worse soon (like how I tried to make myself believe that I was saved). I pray that all of this will break Jahar’s heart enough to all the Holy Spirit to slip in through the cracks. I love him, I know y’all love him, and it would be so awful if he did not have any Comfort or if (please, Father, forbid it) he died (by his hands, others’, or naturally) and went to hell.
        Back to the point- because of this stress, I would not be surprised if Jahar’s had a dream/vision. I wouldn’t be surprised if he was saved (I would hope that we’d hear about it straight-away, but I’m just fine with him being saved. WOW, just had a thought- would one of US have a dream if he were saved. Like I said, I think I’ve had one before *waggling eyebrows*)
        Perhaps it is just my optimism or my youth in the Mission. That is always possible, too 🙂 though I like to think not ❤

      • Bri says:

        Because of something I was told that I’ve sworn not to disclose, I can infer that Jahar is still as of last week clinging to his Muslim faith.

        Let’s not despair, however. We’ve only been praying for him for 14 months. This could take decades. But it WILL happen.

      • Ada says:

        Yes, I’m sure it will happen:-)
        Thank you for sharing that info- I’m glad to be sure!

      • Bri says:

        I’m actually in the same boat as you. I fear we’ll never know. Not that I want it to be this way, but it would be that much more amazing to see him in heaven one day if we weren’t expecting to see him there (in the sense of we didn’t know for certain he became a Christian… I know we all have so much faith he’s going to be saved). That hug would mean even more.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      “K, it sounds like you’ve some awesome praise sessions (I remember what you told Lynn about the time you were praying in your car!)! I wish I could see it- I don’t know if I’d laugh or cry for joy!”

      The last time I was with Bri in April – the first day of my trip we did a 1 day fast and all night prayer, which I expected to be awesome – and it was great to get to do it – but it was just okay……but the last night of our trip – we had this prayer session that was out of control awesome. Half the time I didn’t even know what the heck I was praying – it was totally the Holy Spirit. I knew it was going to be amazing the second I started praying. You would have thought we were high (Well we were – but not on drugs haha). We couldn’t stop laughing…..I was literally laughing so hard my stomach hurt. I made Bri stop and put on worship music because I just had to worship my God. We had to force ourselves to stop at 4 a.m. because it was a Saturday night and we had church in the morning – but otherwise we could have kept going for a few more hours. That night is going to be an amazing memory forever.

      • Ada says:

        It sounds like a beautiful experience! I was praying out loud after testing and the students passing by me MIGHT have been a little freaked out, I think (I was kind of laughing in praise to God for His Wonderful work in Jahar’s life, then I’d get tears in my eyes thinking about all He’s done and thinking of when we’d gather around the Throne…it was awesome for me though!!). The guards didn’t bother me though 🙂

      • Bri says:

        I miss that night. I miss that one all-night prayer on Skype as well.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      How could I have forgotten about that night?! We were so worried about how we were gonna make it 7 hours and then we wanted to keep going because we were nowhere near finished. That’s the Holy Spirit right there. I pretty much just miss you in my life in general. Hurry up August.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Just this morning I was thinking I really should be fasting without you. #fail

      • Ada says:

        Ok, when I said “you had better #failed,” I didn’t mean that I didn’t want you fasting for Jahar. I just meant…”You were kidding, right?” Right? I know y’all done fasts before, though 🙂

      • Bri says:

        Do it! I would totally fast for Jahar again, but the logistics of being at home make it impossible until I move to Minnesota for law school.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      We have done a couple of fasts together – either CU4J as a whole or just Bri and I…..but she can’t fast when she’s home – so I haven’t been either. I’m just saying I’m failing because I should still be fasting for him even though she can’t.

      • Ada says:

        That makes #sense!
        I’m sorry Bri can’t fast while she’s at home (I couldn’t do a food fast, but I’m sure I could find something else ❤
        I'm glad you support her, though! We all support you, Bri! ❤

      • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

        I totally get it – I’ve been married and on my own for 6 years and nonetheless – when my Mom found out I wasn’t eating for 4 days…yikes. She still brings it up.

  4. Ada says:

    It would be a wonderful experience 🙂

  5. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    That would be amazing. So far my only dream of him was that I was visiting him in this obviously false double-decker cell he had. Not even significant in any way……LoL.

  6. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    Bri is in Central……the rest of us are all in Eastern.

  7. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    Yeah that’s why I second guessed myself…..

  8. Ada says:

    I did! I had to go to bed early last night because I had a Pre-Calculus Algebra and Elementary Statistics midterms the next day (today) at 8 in the morning. Well let me tell you that I spent an hour waiting for my proctor to find my college instructors’ code for the exam (I do college on the computer right now, so I have to go to the college for the proctored exams). Finally, I got to take the Pre-Cal test (93.3% ladies), but the Statistics which is a bummer…it’s due the 23rd! 😦
    Anyhow, I was praying praying praying for Jahar while I was waiting for my ride to pick me up (I think some people seriously thought there was something wrong with me, because I was praying aloud lol!) So it was worth going today 🙂 I’m catching up on comments now ❤

  9. Ada says:

    Yes, central!

  10. Bri says:

    I really hope he gets saved before sentencing because defendants are able to speak then. It would be his opportunity to ask for forgiveness and declare how he’s found forgiveness in Christ.

  11. Bri says:

    I’ve also thought about that as well. Granted, it would need to be crystal clear that it was from God for me to put any stock in it. I did a year or so ago have a dream in which I looked at the front page of a newspaper or the homepage of a news website and saw that the main headline was that Jahar became a Christian. But most likely that was just my subconscious mind dreaming about what I think about constantly.

Leave a Comment

