Four-day fast and all-night prayer

This entire mission is one founded completely upon faith in God. We are so powerless, but He is so powerful. Recognizing our complete dependency upon God in this mission and in life in general, we’ve decided to do another fast and all-night prayer. We’ve decided to push ourselves further than ever before this time around because we believe God is working something amazing right now and we are trusting and depending upon Him to do the impossible.

The fast will run from January 21-24 and will conclude with all-night prayer officially lasting until January 25 at 7 a.m. in whatever time zone you live in.

I realize that won’t necessarily be feasible for everyone, so feel free to join us for as much of the fast and/or as much of the all-night prayer as possible. We’d love to have you for even one meal or even one hour of prayer. We’re desperate to see Jahar and his family and friends saved.

This entry was posted in Fasts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Four-day fast and all-night prayer

  1. Bri says:

    That’s definitely a good thing to be praying for since Holder’s decision is going to be made by the end of the month. I really want the death penalty taken off the table right away because it breaks my heart and scares me to think about that eventually possibly being the sentence, but I realize that maybe that’s not actually best. After all, being sentenced to death could create a sense of urgency and fear that would bring Jahar to Jesus whereas a life sentence maybe would never do that. Whatever Holder decides and whatever the sentence ultimately ends up being, I pray that it’s whatever God knows will be advantageous in leading Jahar to Christ.

  2. Bri says:

    Can I just say that I was having a really hard time getting out of bed this morning because I’ve been feeling kinda down lately and reading your comments pretty much made me shoot out of bed? Thanks for the encouragement and motivation. I’m still so thankful that you found the blog.

    Reading what you were saying about fasting from technology put it on my heart to do the same. As a college student and the de-facto leader of Christians United for Jahar and another mission I have for death row inmates, I can’t really feasibly remove all uses of technology, but I can and will remove most. I literally just wrote myself a list of “fasting rules.” It hit me hard that these things that are so hard to give up are things that Jahar never has. And yeah, like you said, he brought it upon himself, but that whole bit where you said “who among us has ever experienced the horror of fully getting what we deserve for our sins” got me thinking. What Jahar is going through to some extent is the very sort of punishment that we as Christians will never face from God, but in praying hard for Jahar to be delivered from even worse punishment for eternity, I feel like I need to be able to empathize with him in his situation. Since I got back to my on-campus apartment, I’ve had an abundance of free time with hardly anyone to talk to and anything to do, so I’ve just wasted a ton of time in front of my computer. He can’t do that in his loneliness and boredom. It’s my hope that in his loneliness and boredom and with all the distractions gone, he’ll cry out to Jesus. So in the midst of mine, that’s what I’m going to do: cry out to Jesus for him as well as for myself and other people and situations God has put on my heart. And beyond spending all this time in prayer for Jahar’s sake, I’ve been struggling myself the past week or so, fully realizing that I need to run to God and spend more time than usual in His presence; yet I’ve been spending less than usual. So although this fast is not about me, on a personal level this will do a lot of good.

    I love what you had to say about that story with Elijah. I do a daily Bible reading plan with another Christians United for Jahar sister, and we actually just read that passage on Wednesday. And when I read it then, that detail about Elijah soaking the altar in water stuck out to me. He had so much faith in God that he was willing to make the odds of the altar being consumed even lower. In fact, he basically rendered it impossible for the altar to start on fire, but God still consumed it, and as you said, even more than that. With man, this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. There is a high possibility that bad news about Jahar is coming soon with the deadline for Eric Holder’s decision on the death penalty coming up in under two weeks, so whatever happens, let’s trust that God has everything under control.

    “Is there an earthly judge, jury, attorney or legal system that can stand in the way of God’s will for Jahar?” NOPE! Instead, God will use their decisions to bring about His will for Jahar. I constantly pray for that, that God would orchestrate every circumstance to help lead Jahar home to Him.

    • Bri says:

      I’m praying for everyone taking part in the fast as well. You’re totally right about how the enemy will probably try to thwart this. That sister I mentioned in my previous comment started feeling sick today, but she’s encouraged because Satan isn’t going to just attack us for no reason. God is working to snatch Jahar out of his hands, I’m sure of it. Have a blessed night too, sister.

    • Bri says:

      That email was incredibly powerful. I’ll be praying for it over the upcoming days as well as continuing to pray for Eric Holder. I ended up listening to the voice in my head that said that my one letter wouldn’t make a difference, so I didn’t write one. Granted, I didn’t feel this overpowering feeling of being led to do it, but there was one day when I had it in mind and it very well could’ve been the Holy Spirit telling me to. Praise God that you listened to His voice rather than the enemy’s. I pray your faithfulness is rewarded somehow.

      I’ve actually never seen Ben Hur, so I think that’s going to be the next movie on my list of movies to watch. It sounds like it has a powerful and extremely pertinent message. I might share your email as a blog post or write a post about Ben Hur based on what you said and what I think while watching the movie.

      “And that anger is still driving actions and decisions and causing the tragedy to go on and on in so many more forms of loss and sorrow.” – That’s one of the things I really hate about the death penalty. It just creates more grieving family members and perpetuates the cycle of violence.

    • Bri says:

      I can’t help but think of Ohio’s most recent execution. They used a new set of drugs, and the execution went horribly wrong. Well, the guy’s children were there to witness all of it. So not only did they lose their dad, but they also are going to be always haunted by what they experienced. How does that make anything any better? It just makes things worse.

      I might even watch the movie tomorrow as I’ve potentially got a good amount of free time, so I’ll let you know.

      “I believe that no matter how bad it looks, Jahar is safely being held in God’s hands even tho Jahar is unaware of it.” ❤ I fully believe that too. God didn't spare his life just to abandon him now.

      Praise God for all that He's doing through Christians United for Jahar. 🙂

    • Bri says:

      Oh, by the way, I didn’t mention how the fast and all-night prayer went. The not-eating part actually wasn’t too bad, as really only the last day was hard. I had hunger pangs most of the day. The no-technology part got REALLY boring, mainly at the times when I wasn’t using my computer for homework and the other things I deemed acceptable. I know it’s not worthy of comparison, but I feel like I got ever the slightest glimpse into how bored out of his mind that Jahar must feel. All-night prayer, though, was the part I thought would be terrible. Seven straight hours of prayer after no food for four days and without having music to help keep me awake sounded impossible, but I trusted God to get me through. And boy did He ever! brokenheart4whatbreakshis and I prayed over Skype that entire time (not entirely for Jahar-related things but a lot of it was) and actually RAN OUT of time. The peace and joy I felt at 7 a.m. was incredible, and I couldn’t stop smiling. God is so good, and I am so confident that He is up to something that will absolutely blow us away.

    • Bri says:

      Oh, I forgot to say, Lynn, that I watched Ben-Hur this past week and really enjoyed it. It was extremely powerful, especially in the change in Judah’s heart, the healing of his mother and sister, and the way God was clearly working in Judah’s life for his good despite some awful circumstances. There are so many relevant parts of the movie in regards to mercy, the power of Jesus, and God’s providence. I feel like I would struggle to write anything better than you did in that letter to Holder, so I don’t know that I’ll end up writing a blog entry about the movie. Oh, by the way, if you ever want to write a post for the blog, let me know. We’d love to have your contributions since you always leave such wonderful stuff in the comments.

  3. Pingback: Fast starts tomorrow | Christians United For Jahar

  4. Bri says:

    I have two options for you as far as how to create a post. They both have their pros and cons. You can choose:

    1. The easy way, but with this method, the posts will show me as the author, so I’ll have to write a little editor’s note at the top saying that it’s written by you.
    2. The hard way, but with this method, the posts will show you as the author.

    With the first method, all you’d need to do is write up a post and email it to me. I don’t want my email address publicly on here, but I can see yours in the dashboard for blog administrators, so I could send you an email, so you have my email address.

    With the second method, I’d have to send an invite to be a blog contributor to your email address and that would give you instructions to create an account. I think those instructions wouldn’t be too hard to follow, but you would have to learn how to use WordPress. It’s not too hard to learn (at least for someone like me who can’t even remember not having a computer or the Internet) and I could try to walk you through it step-by-step.

    And as far as ways to communicate privately, unless you want to create a Facebook specifically for that purpose, the easiest way would probably be email then because that’s relatively simple.

  5. Bri says:

    I’ve prayed for Eric Holder a couple times in the past, and that’s definitely something I should do again. I’m not angry with him as I realize he was just “doing his job,” and I want him to know Jesus too if he doesn’t already—just like I do for everyone else. When you know the love and grace of God, you wish that everyone else would get to experience it too.

Leave a Comment

