Every Captive Free

As Jesus was on the cross, He wasn’t just fighting for those who were coming; He was actually fighting for the hearts of those pounding the nails into His hands. I think it’s so easy to focus on the victim of the crime and not the one committing the crime, but the Lord loves each of them individually and equally.
-Matt Gilman

In the interview excerpted above, Matt Gilman explains the heart behind his song “Every Captive Free.” Although the song was written about human trafficking, that quote accurately describes the heart behind Christians United for Jahar. Yes, God cares about the victims of the Boston bombing, but He also cares about Jahar and He is fighting for Jahar’s heart.

The words of “Every Captive Free” are my prayer for Jahar. While he is physically held captive, even more so he is spiritually held captive by Satan and by his sins. But through the cross, Jesus can break those chains that bind his heart, that he may be free to become a child of God, completely forgiven. Lord Jesus, be his deliverer.

Lyrics to Every Captive Free

This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Every Captive Free

  1. Tina says:

    What especially breaks my heart about Jahar is that, unless there’s been a change we haven’t been made aware of yet, he’s spiritually held captive by Satan, yet he’s totally convinced he’s serving God. It’s devastating to see someone that young be spiritually deceived with the help of his own older brother to the point that he would willingly throw his entire life in the trash and hurt others in the process, believing it was pleasing God.

    • Bri says:

      Yeah, that’s just incredibly sad. I pray that God would break the grasp of Satan on Jahar’s life and cause Jahar to experience the love of a Father who is not out to destroy lives but to restore them. And one day I hope that his life will truly please God, as he serves Him with all his heart, mind, soul, and strength and does wonderful things for the Kingdom.

  2. Bri says:

    I love that because it’s very much how I’ve felt throughout this journey of praying for Jahar. Thinking about his pain causes me pain. His burdens feel like giant burdens on my own shoulders. But I gladly bear those burdens and allow my heart to be broken for him because my heart overflows with compassion and love for him. And in doing so, it’s caused me to catch a beautiful glimpse of God’s heart because really, in effect, I’m doing for Jahar what God does for us.

    I thank God in advance for what He’s going to do in Jahar’s heart and life because I’m confident he’s going to do abundantly more than all that we ask or think (Ephesians 3:20).

Leave a Comment

