The Nature of God

As Christians, we often feel like we have a good grasp of the Gospel and that we understand the nature of the God we serve…..but do we really?  I now know that, before God placed Jahar on my heart, I absolutely did not.  Although we may “know” that we have a God whose perfect love is merciful and forgiving……although we may “know” that Jesus died on the cross for our sins……although we may “know” that our salvation is based on faith alone and not on works……it is so easy to fall into the worldly way of thinking: that “good” people go to Heaven and that “bad” people to go Hell.

Whenever someone finds out that I pray every single day for an accused terrorist and murderers and rapists on death row – I get my fair share of scoffing.  “Forget lethal injection….he deserves to be tortured to death.” “Is that really where you feel your prayers are most needed?  Shouldn’t you be praying for innocent people suffering from illness instead?”  “Why waste your time?  He’s going to hell.”  “How could you pray for such disgusting scum!?!?”

The truth is, when you pray for someone every single day….you truly begin to care about them.  In fact, you actually begin to love them.  You begin to see beyond where they’ve been and what they’ve done. You start to understand that they have a God who sees beyond that too……A God who loves them infinitely more than you ever could and is completely brokenhearted over them.

So while some may scoff at the fact that they will be amongst former murderers and rapists in Heaven one day – I rejoice in it.  I celebrate every time I get a new brother or sister in Christ…..no matter who they are or what they have done.  And as Christians, shouldn’t we all?

Moreover, coming to understand the depth of our Savior’s love for Jahar and these inmates has also allowed me to fully understand the depth of His love for me in a way that I otherwise never would have…..and it blows me away.  I have never felt more loved in my life.

Now that God has revealed His true nature to me through this calling on my heart, I praise Him a little louder and worship Him a little more intensely.  I am in absolute awe of the redemptive power of Jesus.  And I will continue to love on and pray every day for terrorists and rapists and murderers……because they have a God who loves them unconditionally and is waiting at the gates of Heaven for them to come home.

-K

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Nature of God

  1. Bri says:

    If I could like this a million times, I would. It’s obvious that you’ve now got a good grasp on the gospel. If salvation is truly by grace and grace alone, then it doesn’t matter what we’ve done, even if it’s something that we perceive as particularly heinous. God’s heart isn’t just broken over sinners who aren’t “that bad.” Likewise, He doesn’t wait with arms wide just for those who haven’t committed “big” sins. His heart is broken just as much and His arms are just as open for those like Jahar whom the world simply sees as scum undeserving of any love, mercy, forgiveness, and compassion. And as Christians who have received God’s forgiveness and have experienced His love although WE don’t deserve it, shouldn’t we want the same amazing undeserved blessings for everyone?

    I can’t wait to welcome home all my brothers and sisters in Christ, whoever they are and whatever they have done. In fact, I will be extra joyous as I see “the especially unworthy” there completely new and whole with huge smiles on their faces because it’s a reminder that I worship a great Savior. I long to worship God forever alongside Jahar and the death row inmates we’re praying for. That brings a huge smile to my face.

  2. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    Lynn – Right back at you sister! YOU are amazing! You have been such an inspiration to me over the past few weeks. Literally, everything I read, I’m like “Could she be any more awesome?” In fact, you have inspired me (along with Bri) to also do a technology fast in addition to our fast – so we’re doing this right alongside you!

    Bri – When I was writing this – I couldn’t help but think of your “Consistency” post. And now I have a huge smile on my face too. 🙂 What an amazing God we serve!

    • Bri says:

      “YOU are amazing! You have been such an inspiration to me over the past few weeks. Literally, everything I read, I’m like ‘Could she be any more awesome?'” – Ditto. I’m so blessed to be in this mission alongside such amazing sisters in Christ.

      Yep, it reminded me of that post as well as my “The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair” post. But your post was written with its own spin that beautifully distinguished it from those two.

  3. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    I added one paragraph I initally meant to include….couldn’t resist adding it when I remembered.

    • Bri says:

      As you well know, I’ve had the exact same experience as you mentioned in that little addition. Through this I’ve come to know God’s love for me in such a way that I had never known, not to mention I’ve come to love Him a whole lot more too.

  4. Ada says:

    It helps me, too. It helps me remember that it is our duty as Christians to pray for people- not “good” people, not just inmates, but EVERYBODY. I’m supposed to love everybody as Christ did. “Uh, then excuse me Ada, did Christ just die for people that are outwardly “good”? No, he also prayed/admitted the thief to Home. Hasn’t He accepted ME?”
    So why not pray for everybody, no matter where they are? If Christ loved us all enough to die for us, why cannot His children momentarily step out of their comfort zone and pray for other sinners?

    • Bri says:

      I bet that the early Christians would’ve struggled with the idea of praying for Paul…. but then he became their beloved brother and possibly had the greatest influence for Christ of anyone in history. We can’t write people off as beyond redemption; after all, Paul would’ve been a great example of someone who would’ve been placed in that category. But he was anything but unredeemable. What’s impossible with man is completely possible with God.

Leave a Comment

