Death penalty on the table

I’ll post something more in-depth in the next few days, but the breaking news right now is that Eric Holder has decided to pursue the death penalty for Jahar.

Brothers and sisters, please pray. Jahar needs our prayers more than ever now.

This entry was posted in Courtroom, Prayer Requests and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Death penalty on the table

  1. Bri says:

    Thank you for bringing that terrorists don’t run point up. I was praying with another CU4J person today about plea bargaining and how I’m slightly afraid he wouldn’t even want one because of how life in prison would be awful and he might see death as a welcome escape. So I definitely am comforted by the fact that maybe he does want to live. I won’t elaborate since it breaks my disclaimer on the top right of the blog, but the boat note is weird to me. And I love how you bring up that thing with Elijah again. The altar is built and it’s been doused with water. Now let us call upon God and wait for His fire.

  2. Bri says:

    I’m in Minneapolis for a law school visit until sometime Sunday, but when I get back home to my laptop, I plan on writing at least one post in response to today’s news.

  3. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    YES to everything you said. Love you Lynn! Your encouragement means so much to me. ❤ You are so right that God was not surprised by this. He works all things together for our good, and He can use this to help bring Jahar to Him. His plans are so much greater than our plans. Just praying for God to help me keep trusting in Him.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Lynn ~ I have been praying for the jury for a while now too! Thank you so much for the book suggestion – I am so slow at getting through books, but I will add that to my “To Read” list. I have definitely experienced some of that in praying for Jahar. One day I was praying for people in my life in general and I was fine – and the second I started praying for Jahar, I was in terrible stomach pain. It was awful. Somehow I just kept praying through it, and the second I finished and stopped praying for him, the pain went away. So crazy. Would love to learn more about it, so I will definitely pick up that book. When stuff like that happens and I’m being attacked, it encourages me because it makes me think that something is happening…..otherwise, there’d be nothing to fight against.

      • Bri says:

        As I said when that happened, that is something to be so encouraged about. To me, it shows that the enemy knows he is losing Jahar, so he wants to do whatever he can to stop us from praying for him. Well, the enemy is right; he is losing Jahar. Last I looked after all, the enemy loses in the end, so I wouldn’t be too concerned about him. God is greater, and He’s going to win Jahar’s heart. By God’s strength, no attack from Satan will keep us from being faithful to fulfill our crazy commitment to pray for Jahar daily for the rest of his/our life.

      • Bri says:

        Whenever in this mission we’ve been attacked, we end up feeling even more encouraged and certain that Jahar is going to be our brother. Nice try, devil. Thanks for waking us up. That just further reinforces really the idea that God uses what was intended for evil for so much good.

    • Bri says:

      I’ll have to check that out. My reading and purchase lists are always so long lately. There’s a book from an ex-Muslim who became a Christian coming out this month, and I’m really looking forward to it. But yeah, it’s so important to understand spiritual warfare because there’s so much going on beyond what we can physically see. As Ephesians 6 goes on to talk about, God has given us all the weapons that we need in spiritual warfare. In Christ, we are more than equipped to handle the attacks of the enemy.

      • Bri says:

        The book is Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi. It comes out on the 11th. I watched a lecture Nabeel did at Georgia Tech last year, and I’ve also watched a video of him giving his testimony, in which he talks about how he came to Christ in part because of a vision and dreams (which is something I’ve been praying a ton for Jahar).

  4. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    P.S. I’m sure Bri knows how much I want to say here and just how professionally I am restraining myself. 🙂

  5. Bri says:

    Amen, amen, and amen! We serve the God of miracles, and for whatever reason, that God chooses to use His people to bring about His purposes. I love how you put it: “God has tasked us with praying Jahar into the Kingdom of God.” Isn’t it absolutely crazy that we get to play a role in Jahar coming to Christ? I’m so humbled and honored. We might have crazy-sounding dreams, but they sure aren’t too big for God. In fact, God is glorified by our big dreams because it shows that we make much of Him and His power. Small dreams would be slightly offensive, on the other hand, because they indicate a lack of trust in God. Let us continue to dream and pray big, trusting God to send His fire and perform miracles beyond anything we could ever have imagined.

  6. Bri says:

    “God has been speaking confirmation to me specifically that the miracles I am believing for Jahar are not the pipe-dreams of an emotional, unbalanced Christian, like the devil tries to tell me, but they are, in fact, God-inspired.” – I think it can be really easy to buy into that lie that we’re just crazy and that God hasn’t really called us to this. But I can relate experience after experience that confirms the truth that this is all part of God’s plan for us and for Jahar. To name just one, I’ve heard so many people’s stories about coming to pray for Jahar, and they are eerily similar stories that clearly bear the mark of God’s calling. I don’t know if you’ve looked back at old blog posts on here, but in case you haven’t, here’s my story as an example: https://christians4jahar.wordpress.com/2013/09/14/i-love-him-my-story-of-answering-gods-call/

    That is absolutely crazy what’s all been happening with the vandalism to your house. But praise God that He’s using what was intended for evil for good in that instead of scaring you, it’s encouraging you and getting you excited. I will pray for your protection, though.

    “I got really excited instead of mad or scared because I realized it is just another sign that we are playing a vital role in Jahar’s life and I believe one day, on this earth, we will get to tell him how it all went down. What a party that will be!” – I literally cannot wait to hear Jahar’s testimony and to tell him about how God weaved together all the circumstances that brought him to Christ. When he comes to Jesus, he literally will have no clue of the vast majority of what God has done Himself and through His people by setting them praying for him. I want him to know one day, though, because he’d see just how loved he was all along—by God and by us.

    By the way, the friend you mentioned who believes as we do about Jahar, is he/she someone you know “in real life” who actually prays for him regularly? If so, that’s really cool. My friends are very supportive of what I’m doing and they’ll pray for Jahar if I ask them (like I did on Thursday when the news broke), but none of them care even close to as much as I do. I wish they did.

Leave a Comment

