From Mourning into Joyful Dancing

I have a few songs on my prayer list for Jahar that are just pure happy and joyful. They remind me of what could be for him. As I was driving home praying for him the other day, “I’ve Found Jesus” by Delirious came on my iPod. The part that really made me connect with Jahar’s situation was when he sang:

“Well you lifted me from where I was,
Set my feet upon a rock,
Humbled that you even knew about me.
Now I have chosen to believe,
Believing that you’ve chosen me.
I was lost but now I’ve found…I’ve found Jesus.”

Just like the lyrics of the song say, I truly believe that God has chosen Jahar and that He can lift him out of the depths of his despair into the light. After thinking about that, I couldn’t stop smiling listening to the rest of the song.

“Well I feel like dancing in the street ’cause Jesus is alive,
To join with all who celebrate that Jesus is alive.
Well the joy of God is in this town ’cause Jesus is alive.
For everybody’s seen the truth that Jesus is alive.

And I will live for all my days
To raise a banner of truth and light,
To sing about my Savior’s love,
And the best thing that happened –
It was the day I met You.”

As I listened to that – I pictured Jahar in my mind so full of joy that he was DANCING and singing about His Savior’s love. May he get to a place where the best thing that happened in his life isn’t something that happened before all of this mess……it’s the moment that He met Jesus.

We serve a God that is able to create joy even in the darkest places.

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy.” Psalm 30:11

“He will once again fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.”- Job 8:21

“God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy…..” – Psalms 68:6

Jahar, if spared the death penalty – will likely spend the rest of his life in prison and perhaps the rest of his life in solitary confinement. I can’t imagine a greater despair. But Jesus can turn his mourning into dancing and laughter. Although he may be physically bound – Jahar CAN experience unimaginable freedom and joy that can only be found in Him. And so I will keep those joyful songs on my prayer playlist so that, from time to time – I can take a brief intermission from pouring my heart out to God in desperation for my future brother – and just take a minute to picture him dancing joyfully in the presence of our Savior.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to From Mourning into Joyful Dancing

  1. Ada says:

    “…my future brother…” I love that!
    If Jahar is sentenced to a lifetime in prison, and he is Gained by Christ, it will only be his body that is confined, not his spirit. I’ve learned that a person can better tolerate a confined or oppressed spirit, if their soul is free from sin. Because without GOD, not one thing is possible, no not one thing. And I praise Him for that Truth!
    You can never be free if you are not Freed by Christ, because then you are part of the world, body AND soul. With Christ is power to Love and Follow.
    Bri, I read the websites you referred me to. I literally thought to myself, “My GOD!”, not in disrespect, but out of reverence, love, and astonishment. Words cannot express what I feel. I will say “thank you,” though, for the time and care you’ve taken with this cause and with your fellow brothers and sisters.
    I hope your graduation commencement went well, too. 🙂
    In Christ,
    Ada

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Glad you love it because we say it constantly, haha. I actually only put “future” there so as not to alarm anyone – but we usually just shorten it to “our/my brother” because we are so sure that he WILL be. 🙂 And YES! They can keep him away from everyone and everything – but nothing can keep Jesus away. Praying desperately for his spirit to be free in a way that is only possible with Christ. (Not Bri again so I can’t answer the rest of that haha.)

      • Ada says:

        Sorry, I keep mixing ya’ll up! Guess I get in a hurry to read what ya’ll have to say (it brings me comfort) 🙂
        Ada

      • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

        No worries! 🙂 I’m just so happy that you’re here and that we have another prayer warrior for Jahar. Looking forward to getting to know you!

      • Bri says:

        I feel the same way. I’m thankful that you stumbled upon our blog. 🙂

    • Bri says:

      I love what you said about how only his body would be confined. The beautiful truth is that behind those bars he can still be freer than most people on the outside if he would just come to Christ and find that freedom in Him. “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed” (John 8:36).

      I’m so glad you found the websites helpful and encouraging. It is truly an amazing privilege we have that we can partake in intercessory prayer and that God uses it to move mountains.

      Commencement went well, but it was a little boring, haha. On to the next adventure now.

  2. Bri says:

    “We serve a God that is able to create joy even in the darkest places.”

    This reminded me of Hebrews 12:2: “looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” God brought joy out of the darkest event in history, that being the crucifixion of Jesus. No circumstance is too dark for His joy to be unable to enter in.

    I love to picture Jahar with overflowing joy praising his Savior. I cannot wait to celebrate along with him and the angels in heaven when this lost sheep comes home (Luke 15:6-7).

  3. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    So today when I opened my Bible to where are are in our plan – there was a whole section on Christian joy. It says:

    “In this letter to a persecuted church, Paul urges Christians to be filled with joy, just as he does the persecuted Thessalonian believers. In the last hours of his life, Jesus also desired that his disciples ‘be filled with joy.’

    Superficial happiness is dependent on circumstances. Christian joy is clearly different; it is rooted in a person’s relationship with the Lord, and it is resilient even in the midst of suffering and death. Joy comes in knowing that whatever happens, God will use everything for our ultimate good. Believers also have joy from the dynamic presence of God’s Spirit in their hearts. The real secret to a joyful life is in being continuously ‘filled with the Holy Spirit.’ The life and attitudes of believers are not defined by outward circumstances, but by their relationship with the living God.”

    And this is why Jahar can have joy – even with his outward circumstances….because He can be filled with the Holy Spirit and find joy in his relationship with Him.

    • Ada says:

      Do ya’ll remember that passage Jesus spoke, where he said that those with greater debts will naturally be more grateful than those with smaller debts?
      This reminds me of any Christian, but especially Jahar. The testimonies I’ve heard from Christians emphasize the hopelessness they felt before Christ intervened, and then emphasized how satisfied and joyous they felt (and feel) after receiving Christ. I have been raised in an environment that recognized Christianity as the Truth, whereas Jahar was raised to believe the muslim religion to be a truth. I’m not saying that I am “more worthy,” or whatever, than Jahar, because I am not. I am a sinner- hopeless before Christ.
      However, how much more Glory to God it is to bring in someone nearly foreign to Christianity than someone raised around Christianity! Like the passage in Luke, God is searching for that “lost coin,” that “lost sheep.” He will Rejoice greatly when He brings Jahar to Him, and we will proclaim His Greatness!

      I hope I am making sense and not just talking “here and there.”

      In Christ,
      Ada

      • Bri says:

        Yes, I recall that passage. Luke 7:41-43 perhaps? Or is there another passage that talks about that too?

        It’s a miracle when ANYONE comes to faith in Christ, but how much more glorious does it appear when someone who killed people in the name of a false god comes to faith in Christ? What a testimony that would be.

    • Bri says:

      Exactly. Maybe Jahar won’t ever know much happiness again, but there is certainly joy in abundance freely offered to him, and that’s a million times better than happiness anyway.

  4. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    Bri and I are in Song of Solomon in our reading plan, and I was looking up Matthew Henry’s commentary on the first chapter and found this: “Whether the believer is in the courts of the Lord, or in retirement; whether following his daily labours, or confined on the bed of sickness, or even in a dungeon, a sense of the Divine presence will turn the place into a paradise.” I’ll let that speak for itself.

    • Ada says:

      K, where do y’all find the studies you do or is it more than one source?

      • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

        I had never actually read through the whole Bible before….I always tried to start but never made it out of Genesis. With Bri’s encouragement, I started a reading plan on YouVersion and she decided to join me in doing it, which helps so much for accountability. We’re 75% through now! It’s really just reading through the Bible – 3 OT chapters and 1 NT chapter a day. We just read it and use our own study Bibles or commentary we find online and then share/discuss our thoughts on each chapter. We used to be able to do it on Skype during the school year…..missing that a lot now that she’s home and we just have to send each other our thoughts every day.

      • Ada says:

        Okay thank you! Sounds simple enough 🙂

Leave a Comment

