As the Sheep That Strays…

“And Jacob was left alone; and there wrestled a man with him until the breaking of the day. And when he saw that he prevailed not against him, he touched the hollow of his thigh; and the hollow of Jacob’s thigh was out of joint, as he wrestled with him. And he said, Let me go, for the day breaketh. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me. And he said unto him, What is thy name? And he said, Jacob. And he said, They name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince though hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed. And Jacob asked him, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, thy name. And he said, Wherefore is it that thou dost ask after my name? And he blessed him there. And Jacob called the name of the place Peniel: for I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved” (Genesis 32:24-30).

In this passage, Jacob has been running away from his brother Esau. After committing evil acts and running from his father-in-law, Jacob is in need of God.

Here, God comes to Jacob and “wrestled” him.  Jacob was smitten on his hip, thus breaking his will. Once Jacob calmed down, he saw God’s goodness and glory. He found that the injury was not out of hate, but out of love.

As far as we know, Jahar is facing the same challenge: pride and distrust. Jahar has/is faced/facing much physical and emotional pain. Perhaps, though, this pain will be used for Jahar’s salvation. It has already been stated that Jahar’s suffering will not be wasted- I fully believe this! What a glory to God it will be when Jahar realizes that God has had a Plan for him all along! What a glory when a part of the Scriptures is seen all over again!

As a footnote, I once heard in a private sermon that shepherds used to break wayward sheeps’ legs. Once that happened, the shepherd would nurse the sheep, carrying it on his shoulders until it was healed. Once healed, the sheep would not stray again out of love for the shepherd! I’m so sorry that Jahar (or anybody else) has felt pain of any kind. If this pain is necessary for a person’s salvation- well, I give glory to God’s perfect will and timing!

About Ada

I had a Christian blog 2 years ago.... I've learned of God's love since <3
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to As the Sheep That Strays…

  1. Bri says:

    I’ve thought of this passage some recently, but from a different perspective. “And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me.” That’s the attitude that we need to have in prayer—a persistent going to God again and again until our prayers are answered.

    And I LOVE, by the way, the image of the sheep and the shepherd. May God lovingly break Jahar so that he may find spiritual healing and never stray away from His flock.

  2. Ada says:

    Yeah. In one sense (I do not want to twist the actions like Paul talks about in Romans), for each step Jahar has taken away from God, all the more he will be brought back. Thus, all the more glory to God!

  3. Ada says:

    Thank you

  4. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    I just finished reading the book “Pursued” by Jud Wilhite – and it’s basically a study of the book of Hosea. When I read this – I immediately thought of this passage that I read about today: “Come, let us return to the Lord. He has torn us to pieces; now he will heal us. He has injured us; now he will bandage our sounds. In just a short time he will restore us, so that we may live in his presence. Oh, that we might know the Lord! Let us press on to know him. He will respond to us as surely as the arrival of dawn or the coming of rains in early spring.” (6:1-3)

    • Ada says:

      “…torn us to piece; now he will heal us.” It’s like He’s taken a jumbled-up puzzle and set the pieces right again!

Leave a Comment

