God is raising up an army

A couple days ago I re-stumbled upon a message board thread that I had seen months ago, and it greatly encouraged me, so I’d like to share three replies from it with everyone here:

I feel led to pray for Dzhokhar Tsarnaev that God would move upon his heart in a mighty way, then he would come to know Jesus and become a powerful force and witness for Christ to the Islam faith and others. Please join me.

I too have felt the strong urge to pray for him, since the day he was in custody. He’s been strongly on my mind and I’ve been praying for his salvation, that he comes to know Jesus. I’ve made it my mission to pray for him daily, that God will draw him. You also getting the same urge makes makes me wonder if he’s meant to be saved. I hope all are praying for him

Same here, I have been deeply burdened and my heart broken for this young man. I had the chance to write him and included scriptures and encouragement without coming on to strong I mentioned that if he would like more scriptures he could also request a bible. I didn’t want to come one too strong and push him away but I did tell him to ask Jesus to help him and told him that the holy spirit would comfort him and that he will never be alone.

The person in that second reply above was wondering whether Jahar is meant to be saved because of only two people who felt an urge to pray for him. We know, however, that that number is way higher than two. God is truly raising up an army of prayer warriors.

I couldn’t stop smiling after reading those comments because I don’t believe God would set His people praying for someone for no reason. He has burdened our hearts for Jahar for a reason—a reason that I believe will be far more beautiful than we could ever imagine. Take heart, for the God who has called us to this mission is the same God who can accomplish it.

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to God is raising up an army

  1. Ada says:

    “I couldn’t stop smiling after reading those comments because I don’t believe God would set His people praying for someone for no reason.”
    Wow, I never looked at it from that perspective! (Could anyone think otherwise?)
    “Take heart, for the God who has called us to this mission is the same God who can accomplish it.” You are so right! Why would God send us on a useless mission of love?

    • Bri says:

      I mean, God could technically call someone to pray for something more so for the impact it’s going to have on the person who is praying. I could sit here and think that God called me to pray for Jahar because through it, I’ve been healed of depression, brought so much closer to Him, found my best friend, and helped lead her to Jesus. That is, I could think that if I were the only person who has felt this calling. But it’s so far-reaching that I can’t possibly think God doesn’t have plans to reach Jahar.

      • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

        Those are some pretty sweet “side effects” though. 🙂 It amazes me every single day all of the good that God has brought out of this for me……he called me to pray for Jahar, and through that (and using you!) He saved me and literally transformed my life from living for me to living for Him. He blessed me with the most amazing best friend I could ever ask for. He led you to create Operation Life……and I won’t even begin to list all of the separate blessings that has brought. It’s so cool that He can take one thing like this and use it to lead to SO MUCH. You know me……all the time I start to wonder if I’m crazy and I’m making this all up. But then I see something like this. Then I hear of someone else coming forward saying they felt the same calling. And I know this is not in my head. God loves Jahar like crazy and is waiting longingly for him to come home. Like my blog entry – Our prayer is part of His plan!

      • Bri says:

        It’s beautiful. God truly does take what was intended for evil and use it for good.

        I don’t really feel like I’m crazy ever, but sometimes I do wonder if I’m reading into things something that really isn’t there. But no, there are too many reasons to believe I’m not doing that.

        “God loves Jahar like crazy and is waiting longingly for him to come home.” *huge smile*

  2. Ada says:

    But David and his army had stones being thrown at them, but they prayed and overcame!

  3. Ada says:

    But yes, I understand that you are hurting and pray that you will be comforted!

  4. Bri says:

    I meant to post this a day or two ago but I posted something else and also ran out of time. When I saw you were feeling depressed and discouraged, I felt it was perfect timing to post this for encouragement even though I really have other stuff I need to be doing right now.

    • Ada says:

      Oh, busy are we? 😉
      Haha, just kidding! How nice of you to think of her!

      • Bri says:

        Yeah, kinda busy, though my commenting on here right now suggests otherwise, haha. I’ve got Hawaii packing and planning to do, prayer, Bible reading, exercising, writing inmates, and applying for jobs, among other things.

  5. Bri says:

    I’ve heard it said that Satan won’t waste his time attacking those who aren’t a threat to him or to someone who’s under his control. When I’ve felt attacked during this mission, I’ve actually found encouragement in it because to me it means I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing and making a difference.

  6. Bri says:

    Glad I could help. ❤

  7. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    You better believe our army is getting shot at! It seems like the attacks just won’t stop. But as Bri said – that totally encourages me. We are being attacked for a reason! Satan doesn’t want to lose his power over Jahar – but our God is stronger!

    • Bri says:

      “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places” (Ephesians 6:12).

  8. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    a.) You make a difference to us! I am so glad you’re here. I missed you when you weren’t around for a while! b.) I’m sure you make a difference for your daughter. c.) You make a difference to God. You are His precious daughter and worth everything to Him! d.) You are making a tremendous difference in our brother’s life even if he doesn’t know it. He needs you!

  9. Bri says:

    I don’t know where to say this, as I don’t want to make a post just for it, so I’ll say it here:

    I LOVE all the interaction going on on this blog lately, especially today. This is what I had in mind when I created this blog last summer. It was so dead here for a while, so this means a lot to me. 🙂

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Why is there no like button for comments? 🙂 LIKE! The only problem is that now it’s midnight and I haven’t done my reading plan or any chores yet. Oops. 🙂

    • Ada says:

      I enjoy watching the interaction. There has to be rejoicing in Heaven as we interact, especially as we did last night.

  10. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    Well the name I go by is somewhat unique and rather google-able, so I’d rather not – but I’ll think about my full name…..maybe. :-p Thank you though! Unfortunately, most of the world does not see it that way. 😦

Leave a Comment

