You’re Never Alone, Dzhokhar (Part I)

I wanted to finish this before I posted it, but I’ve not yet done so. I did not want to just cast it aside (as I often do), so I figured that I would post in parts 🙂

Here’s Part One:

 

I struggle to open my eyes.

I remember that, when I was but a little boy, I was told that undertakers would place gold coins on the eyelids of the dead. Nobody was sure if it was to bless the body or to keep the eyelids closed.

Eventually, I quit fighting and just let the gold weigh down my eyes. I am so tired, the battle cannot continue. Allah, I pray, I’m ready. Yes, it is time….

“Open your eyes.” This…this voice has not spoken, yet I heard! I heard.

My eyes fly open, yet I am still so cold and so, so tired.

I become aware of shouting. “Allah, “I pray, “If it be your will, take me as a sacrifice before I surrender. Let me die fighting your good fight.”

All of a sudden, I feel a train hitting my chest. Tears sting my eyes and give warmth to my body. It is enough for me to climb the side of the boat. “Allah, help me! Mama, comfort me!”

Allah does not give me the power to lift my sweatshirt- once light but now heavy with my sorrow and blood.

My mother does not come wipe my tears when I crash to the ground below.

Yet I am still alive. Why must I still live? The gold is being placed upon my eyes again and I feel my very heart grow cold. Though surrounded by EMTs in the ambulance, I am alone. The ring of cold metal doors shutting echoes in my mind.


 

About Ada

I had a Christian blog 2 years ago.... I've learned of God's love since <3
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Encouragement, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You’re Never Alone, Dzhokhar (Part I)

  1. Bri says:

    “Why must I still live?” – Because God still has plans for you, my brother.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Amen! I so cannot wait for the day he realizes that. I am obsessed with the way that God chooses the least likely people to build His kingdom.

    • Ada says:

      Tune in next week…(ahahahaha, just joking!)
      Seriously, though, I cannot doubt that God has some serious and wonderful plans for Jahar. 🙂

  2. Ada says:

    Yeah, there’s verses in the Bible, like in Romans:
    “Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation, continuing instant in prayer” (Romans 12:11).
    “…but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope: and hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us” (Romans 5:3b-5).”

    Jahar could not be alive if it were not for God- that REALLY comforts me, too!

  3. Ada says:

    Yes!!!!!! Praises to God!

Leave a Comment

