He Asked Me to Pray

Yesterday I was finishing reading “I Dared to Call Him Father” by Bilquis Sheikh. This is the powerful true story of a prominent Muslim woman who comes to faith in Christ and risks everything to follow Him. When I read this passage, I couldn’t wait to share it with you all:

“Dreams, too, played a remarkable role during that time. Dreams had always been a part of my Christian experience, ever since the day I first met Jesus, who came in a dream to feast at the table with me. Now these strange and mystic experiences, such as Paul said he experienced, became even more active.

One night I found myself taken out in spirit and crossing the ocean at a terrific momentum. Like the speed of light I came to what I felt was New England, though I had never been to America. I came before a house, or was it a nursing home? I floated into a room with twin beds. In one lay a middle-aged woman with a round face, clear blue eyes and a mixture of gray and white short hair. A white embossed cotton spread in a triangular pattern covered the bed. She was obvoiusly very ill; I sensed she had cancer. A nurse sat in a chair reading. And then I saw my Lord in the corner of the room. I kneeled down before Him and asked what I should do.

‘Pray for her,’ He said. So I went to the woman’s bed and prayed fervently for her healing.

In the morning I sat at my windowsill awed by what had happened in that room across the sea. Why did Jesus ask me to pray for the woman? He was right there. Yet He asked me to pray for her. I was beginning to get a glimmer of a tremendous revelation. Our prayers are vital to our Lord. He works through them. I was led to the fifth chapter of James: Believing prayer will save the sick man; the Lord will restore him and any sins that he has committed will be forgiven…Tremendous power is made available through a good man’s earnest prayer…

Thus our prayer releases this power into the person for whom we plead.”

I’ll let that speak for itself my brothers and sisters.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Why Pray? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to He Asked Me to Pray

  1. Ada says:

    Goosebumps, K!
    There’s nothing that I else I can say now except this: Praise be to our Lord!

  2. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    This whole thought is just really staggering me this morning: HE…..the God of the universe…..asked little old ME to pray for one of His precious lost children. That is just mindblowing to me. I feel beyond honored that He chose me.

    • Bri says:

      I often wonder why He chose me of all people. I’ll be so humbled if I get to play even the smallest part in leading this lost and broken young man home.

      • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

        I know exactly why He chose you! Look at the way you have brought all of us together! I’m gonna be honest and say that without you – although I would probably still love Jahar and be occasionally praying for him – there is no way I would have committed to praying daily for him for the rest of my life or his. Your loyalty and dedication is inspiring – and I love having you for accountability. And THAT, my friend, is why He chose you.

      • Bri says:

        Aww, thanks. ❤ Thing is, I don't know that I could do this long term like that if it weren't for y'all. It's much easier when you have someone running alongside of you, spurring you on.

        I don't need any credit or any thanks, but I hope that one day Jahar finds out just how much commitment there was to praying for him all along. May that bring a huge smile to his face.

  3. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    I had heard about it, but to be honest I had not read all of the details. The persecution that people in other parts of the world face is just awful and makes me feel stupid for ever complaining about anything I ever have to go through. I will make sure to research more about this and pray for her. ❤ What amazing faith – I hope I could be like that if I was in her situation.

  4. Ada says:

    No I don’t believe I have. There was one Sudanese Christian woman that is/was sentenced to death (she was also pregnant, but she’s delivered the child I believe).
    That is so sad 😦

    • Bri says:

      I think you two are talking about the same woman. She had her baby probably a month or so ago. Such a sad story, though. It’s so tragic the things that happen in the Islamic world.

      • Ada says:

        Yes, it is very unfortunate. The only bright side that I see now is that, if she is executed, she will be welcomed by our Lord.

  5. Bri says:

    Jesus could reach Jahar—or anybody—without our prayers, but He chooses nonetheless to use them as part of the path He’s building for Jahar and others to come home. What an enormous privilege we’ve been given and thus what an enormous responsibility. Let’s not take it lightly.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      “What an enormous privilege we’ve been given and thus what an enormous responsibility. Let’s not take it lightly.” YES. That perfectly sums up my reason for sharing this.

Leave a Comment

