You and Me

I have been listening to this song on repeat since someone recommended it to me on Monday. It is a hauntingly beautiful song about the redemption offered to us through Christ, and the lyrics include powerful imagery that is extremely relevant to Jahar’s situation:

Beautiful Scandalous Night
By Sixpence None the Richer and Bebo Norman

Go on up to the mountain of mercy
to the crimson perpetual tide.
Kneel down on the shore
Be thirsty no more
Go under and be purified

Follow Christ to the Holy mountain
Sinner, sorry and wrecked by the fall
Cleanse your heart and your soul
in the fountain that flows
for you and for me and for all

Chorus
At the wonderful, tragic, mysterious tree
on that beautiful scandalous night you and me
were atoned by His blood and forever washed white
on that beautiful scandalous night

On the hillside you will be delivered
At the foot of the cross, justified
and your spirit restored
by the river that pours
from our blessed Savior’s side

– Chorus –

Bridge
You carried the sin of mankind on your back
and the sky went black

Go on up to the mountain of mercy
to the crimson perpetual tide
Kneel down on the shore
Be thirsty no more
Go under and be purified

– Chorus (2x) –

On that beautiful scandalous night
Beautiful scandalous
Miraculous night

Out of that entire song and all that it encompasses – there are three simple little words that I just can’t shake: You and me.

So often, we have the tendency to narrowly define God’s grace as being available to “me and people like me”…..but the truth is that it’s also offered to “you”……..and there is absolutely NO LIMIT to who that “you” encompasses. God’s amazing grace is available to anyone and everyone who seeks it – no matter who they are or what they’ve done. Literally the ONLY sin that is unforgiveable by God is the refusal to ever seek and follow Him. Look closely at the lyrics of this song: “Cleanse your heart and your soul
in the fountain that flows for you and for me and for all.” Not just for me. Not just for you. Not just for those whose sins “aren’t so bad.” For ALL. Over the past year, God has blessed me with beautiful friendships with several people who were literally hell-bound with blood on their hands but have come to saving faith in Jesus Christ and have become my precious brothers and sisters. The same blood that atoned for my sins and washed me forever white has washed away rape and murder for my brothers and sisters. The same cleansing and purification that I have received has made them completely new creations in Him. As I listen to this song, I am continually reminded that at the very core, I am no different than Jahar…….we are both sinners in need of a Savior. Praise God that we both have access to Him, even though neither one of us deserves it. In a song filled with evocative words like “wrecked,” “tragic,” “scandalous,” “cleanse,” “delivered,” “beautiful,” “wonderful,” “restored,” “purified”…………..no matter how many times I hear this song, to me, the three most powerful words will always be: You…….and…….me.

This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to You and Me

  1. Ada says:

    ❤ Like Bri's post says, God does not work by labels. All you need to qualify to receive Christ is "sinner."
    "For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us" (Romans 5:6-8).
    Murder, rape, hatred, lying…it is all the same: not up to God's beautiful character. All of it is sin. It was not promised that Christ's blood would wash away only lying, but stealing, murder, and everything else that is not perfect. Who did Christ forgive on the cross? A thief. Did Christ and God's Word reach only the "moderate" sinners (ha!)? Of course not; He/it reached out to (and has reached out to) people of all kinds.
    Christ ordered a dead girl to wake up, and it happened. He definitely can reach Jahar!

  2. Linda Demick says:

    Preach it sister! Words for all of us to hear … there but for the GRACE of God go I …
    Jahar is no different than any sinner, and that includes me. People need to stop putting sin into categories – bad, worse, unforgivable – sin is sin, plain and simple, and we do it daily. Great post, great song! Lord, save this soul for Your kingdom!!!!

    • Bri says:

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting, Linda. I love that there but for the grace of God go I quote. One of my favorites.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      He will! He is relentlessly pursuing Jahar, and He won’t stop until he is His. God has taught me so much about the Gospel and His grace by calling me to prayer for His precious lost child…..I just keep learning more and more every day. ::Hugs to you sister:: So glad you’re here! 🙂

      • Ada says:

        “His precious lost child”
        The “lost” is sad, but “His PRECIOUS lost chid…” how beautiful! Thank Him that Jahar is still alive. God’s power and love is unbelievable!

  3. Bri says:

    Some people would be revolted by the thought of people “like Jahar” being in heaven. I, however, praise God that such a thing is possible. I’ll gladly stand beside former terrorists, murderers, rapists, etc. one day in heaven, rejoicing that His grace is enough and embracing those brothers and sisters.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      Amen! I, like you, feel the complete opposite of revolted. It just makes me think – how amazing is my God? And how much does He love ME that He would forgive me if I had done something like that?

Leave a Comment

