Yet another arrest

I’m a bit late with this news, but for those who missed it, yet another one of Jahar’s friends, Stephen Silva, has been arrested. Silva faces drug and gun possession charges. Please be praying for him, primarily for him to come to faith in Jesus Christ.

Like the previous arrest (that of Khairullozhon Matanov), this one has possible implications on Jahar’s trial. From ABC News:

…In addition to charges related to alleged heroin dealing, the Eritrea native “knowingly received and possessed a firearm…a Ruger model P95 9 mm pistol, which had the importer’s and manufacturer’s serial number removed, obliterated, and altered,” according to court documents obtained by ABC News…

Law enforcement sources said that gun was the same as the Ruger P95 described in other court documents as used by Tamerlan Tsarneav, Dzhokhar’s older brother, in a gun battle with police three days after the marathon bombing in April 2013…

Hours before the police engaged the brothers, the same gun was also allegedly used in the murder of MIT security officer Sean Collier.

Defense attorneys for Dzhokhar have filed papers and have said in open court that Tamerlan was the architect of the marathon attacks that left three dead, 260 wounded, and that Dzhokhar came under the “stronger influence of his older brother.”

However, a high-ranking law enforcement official said that while Tamerlan may have used the Ruger last, it was Dzhokhar who was friends with Silva and in the end, “it was Dzhokhar’s gun.”

“The defense is trying to paint Tamerlan as the mastermind [of the Boston attacks], but they were working in concert and we have evidence that Dzhokhar secured the weapon,” the official said.

This might not bode well when it comes to the sentencing phase of the trial, if Jahar is found guilty. The defense will be trying to use the argument that Tamerlan was the mastermind and Jahar a follower as a mitigating factor to avoid the death penalty. But here is yet another piece of information that could hinder that argument.

Pray for God’s hand over Jahar’s trial, that He would providentially orchestrate whatever circumstances are needed for Jahar to come to faith in Christ—even if that means him being sentenced to death.

This entry was posted in Courtroom, Prayer Requests and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yet another arrest

  1. One thing we may be sure of… We will NEVER run out of things to pray for!

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      That’s for certain. I am dreaming big that our prayers will not only lead to Jahar becoming our brother but that it will lead to a ripple effect of so many of his friends and family coming to Christ as well.

      • Bri says:

        I sure hope so. I don’t see why that couldn’t happen. I think about if Zubeidat became a Christian how that could possibly have a huge impact since it seems she has a lot of influence in the Tsarnaev family.

        I want so badly too to see God use our letters to Aza, Dias, and Khair. It’s been frustrating so far in that regard, but I think the key in all of this is to be patient. It’s hard because I want everyone saved NOW.

  2. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    As much I hate to even think about it – I have so much trust in our Father that whether Jahar dies in the next few years or in his 90s, he will know Jesus as his Savior before that day.

    • Bri says:

      Reminds me of an old comment of mine I just reread on the post “Boldly I Approach”:

      I was spending time in prayer last night, not asking God for anything in particular at first, just talking to Him about how I was inspired by Jeffrey’s faith and courage, and I was reminded of Philippians 1:18-26:

      “Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.”

      I believed that Jeffrey still could’ve done so much for the Kingdom, which is why I wanted clemency so badly for him, but “to depart and be with Christ… is far better.” Jeffrey didn’t lose on Wednesday; he won bigtime. All they did was grant him his freedom. What a punishment, haha. Instead of being locked up and alone in that cell, he’s free and with his beautiful Savior. PRAISE GOD.

      And that’s the hope I have for Jahar: that he’ll surrender his life to Christ, so that whenever and however he dies, there won’t truly be any reason to mourn but a million reasons to rejoice with him.

Leave a Comment

