“PUT IT RIGHT THERE”

I heard this song last night on the radio and wanted to share it here. The Lord spoke to my heart as a I listened and the verse that stuck out the most was this:

I’m reaching out my hand – I’ll do anything I can. 

Put it right there.

It occurred to me then that I’d been praying for Jahar in my own strength and not in the Father’s. Just as Jahar will have to put his own life into the hands of Jesus, I have to put my personal feelings and opinions aside and place Jahar in God’s hands, rather than my own, and trust him completely, no matter the outcome..

PUT IT RIGHT THERE
He came running in the house, busting through the door
Crying out of control as he fell to the floor
He said, “Dad, I’m so sorry, but there’s something you must know.”
His body was shaking, struggling to his feet
Confessing his addiction, screaming for relief
He pulled from his pocket, the drugs, that had taken his control
Dad reached out his hand and he said…
Put it right there, in the palm of my hand
I know it’s gonna hurt, but trust me to the end
You will be free and I will be there
Together, we will stand, looking back at what you feared
I’m reaching out my hand – I’ll do anything I can
Put it right there

Gathered on a hillside near a middle-eastern town
A guiltless man would soon die – in a crowd of evil men
As they laid Him on the brutal cross
I wonder what went through His mind
He wasn’t being crucified for anything He’d done
He was laying down His own life for the lives of everyone
As that soldier picked up the spike and he raised the hammer high
I wonder if Jesus said… to that man…
I’m reaching out my hand, for the sin of every man
Put it right there!

Gerald Crabb – Christian Taylor Music
Gerald Crabb’s Songs – BMI
© All Rights Reserved

About OzarkScyfyWriter

Writer, Photographer, Musician.
Video | This entry was posted in Encouragement, Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “PUT IT RIGHT THERE”

  1. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    I’ve been learning so much about trusting Him with all of this too brother. We serve a God that can be trusted, and He delights when we place our trust in Him. Even though sometimes we may not understand why something is happening……God is always, always, always in control. “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

  2. brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

    You have a way of writing the most beautiful prayers that give me chills. When I am feeling frustrated that I don’t know anything about what Jahar is thinking or feeling or what he needs – I am constantly comforted by the fact that God knows him inside and out…..his every thought and feeling. So many times when I am praying out loud for Jahar, I catch myself accidentally saying “Your cell” instead of “his cell” and then I smile because I remember that God is in that cell too. He never, ever leaves him. When I don’t know what Jahar needs or where he’s at, the Holy Spirit does…..and He helps me to pray for our precious brother. Talking about this reminds me of “Psalm 139” by Rebecca St. James……one of my favorites to pray to for him.

  3. Bri says:

    It’s so easy to focus on what I want for Jahar: for him to have dreams and visions today, for him to be saved now, for his ear to be healed, for him not to get the death penalty, for him not to be sent to the Supermax, for the SAMs to be lifted, etc. But what if those things aren’t going to be what needs to happen? What if God has a different plan, so my frustration needs to be turned into patient trust? After all, God knows Jahar far better than I do. He knows what Jahar needs; I don’t. He’ll perfectly orchestrate everything to build the path that leads Jahar home.

    By the way, I love the part of the song that goes, “As that soldier picked up the spike and he raised the hammer high, I wonder if Jesus said… to that man… I’m reaching out my hand, for the sin of every man. Put it right there!” Powerful.

    Thank you very much for posting, Caleb. 🙂

  4. Bri says:

    That’s a beautiful prayer. I’m so glad that the one who can help Jahar is the one who knows him best and the one who can be there with him when no one else can.

    • Bri says:

      That would be amazing if it could happen, but I’m under the impression from what I’ve read that it takes more than a dream or a vision for a Muslim to come to Christ. The book Dreams and Visions that I just read for the second time says “No one goes to sleep a Muslim and wakes up a Christian. Jesus’ personal appearances are an incredible work, but He still uses godly people to share the gospel that brings salvation.” I shared an article on a blog post last summer that says the following:

      Even Christians who are skeptical of modern-day Christophanies must recognize the value other cultures place on dreams and the life-changing role they play, because ultimately it’s not the dreams themselves that lead people to Christ; it’s believers.

      “We do not find that dreams and visions alone ever change anybody’s life,” Ripken points out. “What it does, it seems, is to send them on a spiritual pilgrimage.”

      I think also of Romans 10:14-17:

      How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed what he has heard from us?” So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

      All that goes to say that while I have no doubt that God could share the Gospel with Jahar strictly through a dream or vision, it seems like God’s way of reaching Muslims with dreams or visions is to follow them up with His people sharing the Gospel with them. I would say, however, that Jahar wouldn’t necessarily have to have someone share with him after a dream or vision. It’s possible he’s had the Gospel shared with him before and he understands it but simply doesn’t believe it, or he could pick up a Bible and encounter the Gospel message himself. The latter could be difficult since he wouldn’t know where to look and it’s laid out in multiple passages, but I suppose with the Holy Spirit guiding him, it could happen.

  5. warrior says:

    John 13:7 – Jesus answered and said unto him, What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter.

Leave a Comment

