Aha! Moment

Ever have a moment where God just basically smacks you in the face with something and teaches you a lesson that you desperately needed to learn?  That happened to me this morning.

As many of you know, some of us are involved in a death row prayer ministry called Operation Life in which we pray daily for death row inmates in the three months leading up to their execution.  Approximately 5 months ago, I began writing to all of the inmates I was assigned to.  Except for one, every single inmate I have ever written to has written back or had a friend write back to me for them if it was too late.  One of the inmates that I wrote to never wrote back.  To be 100% honest, when I saw his picture, I judged him right off the bat.  I thought he looked “creepy,” and I almost wasn’t surprised when he didn’t return my letter.  I repeatedly made statements to my sisters in Operation Life that I “didn’t have a good feeling about him” and “didn’t have much hope for him.”  It even reflected in my prayers.  I prayed much more passionately and with much more hope and trust for all of my other inmates.  Unfortunately, his execution went through without me ever having heard from him.  As upset as I was by yet another execution, I had already moved on in my mind.  Until I opened my mailbox this morning.  Sitting in the mailbox was a single envelope…..from the inmate who had never written back and who is no longer with us on this earth.  I literally got chills holding that letter.  When I ripped it open, I couldn’t believe what I found inside.  He was 100% my precious brother in Christ, and as much as he didn’t want to die – He had full confidence that he was going to be spending eternity with his Savior – free from the pain of this life.  And that is exactly where he is as I write this.

In that one moment, I just stopped in my tracks and said, “Thank you God.  You saved this letter for the exact right moment to correct me Lord.  You are right, and I was wrong.  There is never EVER a situation or person that is beyond hope.  I am sorry I ever even had that thought.  You are an amazing God!”

Even for us who have so much hope for Jahar when the rest of the world does not – it can be easy to let doubts creep in….to let them affect our thought processes or our prayers – but this morning He showed me that if He can take a murderer who looked pure evil and wash him white as snow – He can and will do the very same for Jahar.  His love has overcome the WORLD.  It can certainly overcome Jahar’s heart.

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aha! Moment

  1. Bri says:

    As “Blessed are the Merciful” says, “Jesus touched the untouchable, and loved the unlovable, and forgave the unforgivable, and welcomed the undesirable… Jesus even now saves the otherwise unsavable.”

    Anyone we’d write off as unsavable is anything but if God gets a hold of them. After all, with God all things are possible (Matthew 19:26).

    Praise God for saving Brother Joe. I’m overjoyed to know he’s home now, and that what they did in pretty much experimenting on him and torturing him to death is over with. His pain is gone now forever. And praise God too for teaching us so much through Operation Life.

Leave a Comment

