My Darling Child / I Still Love Him

As I read in Jeremiah a few weeks ago – I was struck by a set of verses about God bringing Israel back from captivity.  The verses spoke so perfectly to me about how God feels about His lost children, that I couldn’t help replacing “Israel” with “Jahar” as I read.

“Is not [Jahar] still my son, my darling child?” says the Lord.  “I often have to punish him, but I still love him.  That’s why I long for him and surely will have mercy on him.  Set up road signs; put up guideposts.  Mark well the path by which you came.  Come back again, [Jahar], return to your [home] here.  How long will you wander, my wayward [son]?  For the Lord will cause something new to happen – [Jahar] will embrace [his] God.” (Jeremiah 31:20-22)

Jahar may have done something awful, but he is still God’s darling child whom He loves like crazy.  As evidenced by the deep longing He has placed on all of our hearts, God is longing for Jahar to come home to Him.  Just prior to this set of verses, Israel is repenting of its sins and asking for restoration from God, as they realize they have no power to redeem themselves.  It is my fervent prayer that Jahar comes to realize that Jesus is the only One with the power to redeem and restore him – and that he falls on his knees before the One True God, crying out for His forgiveness and love.  It may happen tonight.  It may happen 50 years from now.  But there is no doubt in my mind that the Lord will cause something new to happen.  Jahar will embrace his God.

This entry was posted in Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Darling Child / I Still Love Him

  1. Bri says:

    “Jahar will embrace his God.” YES. And one day he will feel the warm embrace of his Father.

    • brokenheart4whatbreakshis says:

      I long for Jahar to fully understand and get to experience that Father/son relationship. To go from seeing God as this impersonal being that you are enslaved to…..to realizing that you have an Abba who loves you and desires an intimate relationship with you…..that’s just such a crazy difference in perspective.

Leave a Comment

