Come As You Are

What’s the point in even living anymore? Here I am in this box. No one to talk to but these four walls. Treated as if I’m a monster. Sometimes as if I don’t even exist. I’m so lonely…so depressed. I just want this all to end.

Come out of sadness
From wherever you’ve been
Come broken hearted
Let rescue begin

Rescue? Who is this? There’s no rescuing me. I’m too far gone. This situation is far too hopeless.

Come find your mercy
Oh sinner come kneel

Mercy? For me? Do you know what I’ve done? I don’t deserve mercy. I killed four innocent people….and I injured and forever changed the lives of hundreds of others. There can’t be any mercy for someone like me. But I hear You God, and I’m on my knees before You.

So lay down your burdens
Lay down your shame

Lay it down? Is it even possible to get rid of this weight I’m carrying around? I’m so ashamed of who I am and what I’ve done.

All who are broken
Lift up your face

I’m looking up God, but I don’t even feel worthy to be looking at You. I’m too awful. Too far gone.

Oh wanderer come home
You’re not too far

I’m not? Come home? God, how could You want me after all I’ve done?

There’s hope for the hopeless
And all those who’ve strayed

Hope? All this time I’ve felt that my situation was hopeless. But there’s hope for me God?

Come sit at the table
Come taste the grace

Me? God I don’t understand this. Why would You want me at Your table? I don’t deserve it God. I don’t deserve this amazing grace You’re offering me. I’m not worthy of this love. But I want it. I want to be Yours desperately. Your love is drawing me.

There’s rest for the weary
Rest that endures

I’m so tired God. So tired and in so much pain.  Take all of my shame and my hurt and my pain. I’m giving it to You. I’m placing my trust in You.  Lord help me to rest in You.

So lay down your hurt
Lay down your heart
Come as you are

As I am God? This doesn’t make any sense. How could You love me as I am? I’m laying down everything God. My heart is Yours. Make me into someone who deserves Your love.

Fall in [My] arms

Hold me God. I’m falling in Your arms, and I need You to hold me. I’m Yours God.

There’s joy for the morning
Oh sinner be still
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal

Joy? Lord, I still can’t believe that You have offered me – such a broken, lost, unworthy sinner – joy. JOY. In this place. Joy that can never be stolen from me. I will never be able to praise my Savior enough – that He rescued me…that He washed me clean…that He is my healer, my strength, and my everlasting joy.

This entry was posted in Creative writing, Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come As You Are

  1. Bri says:

    I can’t even explain how much I love this. And the part about coming to God’s table reminded me of Leeland’s “Carried to the Table.”

Leave a Comment

