Message from a Flower

11733336_1188063331219090_433943676_n (1)

Back in mid-April, I went to a college friend’s bridal shower and someone who won a pansy as a prize gave it to me. I figured I’d try to keep it alive inside my apartment until mid-May when I was going back home and could give it to my mom to plant outside.

It survived—barely. It had no flowers on it, and it looked pretty sickly.

When I got back home, my mom planted it in a pot and put it outside. It wasn’t really looking much better, but one day after work, my mom told me it was beginning to bloom. She went to grab it to show me, and there was nothing… A rabbit had eaten the flower that was blooming and wrecked havoc on the plant. The pansy was back to looking pretty pathetic.

I’ll admit I had no hope for the plant to ever bloom and look healthy. But today I got home from work and went out on the deck, and it’s got three flowers on it with more coming! As I looked at it and thought about the long journey this pansy has taken, I heard the Holy Spirit say to me, “I’m keeping him [Jahar] alive and one day he’s going to thrive.”

Right now Jahar’s life looks rather hopeless. He’s under a death sentence, and there are probably days when he thinks he won’t be able to make it much longer wasting away alone in a prison cell. It seems like his life is over.

But my God says “Wait, not so fast! I still have plans for him.” It might take time and there might be setbacks, but God is moving. As long as there is life, there is hope, and God is giving him the strength to endure every day until something beautiful blossoms. I have full confidence that due to the power of the Holy Spirit, he will come to know freedom and purpose even behind bars. My God is in the business of making all things new and raising the dead to life.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” (John 10:10).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

